What is DML, DDL, DCL and TCL in SQL- Server

DML stands for Data Manipulation Language. DML is responsible to retrieve, store, modify, delete, insert and update data in database.

DDL stands for Data Definition Language. DDL is responsible to create and modify the structure of database objects in the database.
Examples: CREATE, ALTER, DROP statements

DCL stands for Data Control Language. DCL is responsible for roles, permissions, and referential integrity and also use to control access to the database by securing it.
Examples: GRANT, REVOKE statements

TCL stands for Transactional Control Language. TCL is responsible to manage different transactions occurring within a database.
Examples: COMMIT, ROLLBACK statements

Related Posts

Fatal Error: Peer authentication failed for user "postgres", when trying to get pgsql working with rails.

Problem: Sometimes, we get the following error when trying to make a connection in Rails.  FATAL ERROR: Peer authentication failed for us...